Complete Story


OFDA's126th Annual Convention & Exhibition

May 10-12, 2006

Join us for "An Event to Remember"

May 10-12, 2006
An Event to Remember
Hyatt Regency & Columbus Convention Center, Columbus, Ohio

Recognition of 50-Year Award Recipients
Congratulations to the following:

Peter J. Ducro, CFSP, Ashtabula
August K. Graumlich, Worthington
John J. Higgins, Youngstown
Marilyn E. Gump-Holt, Cincinnati
Jerry Jagers, Athens
Jerry E. Lee, Findlay
Carol M. Littleton, Sabina
Donn H. Meinert, Oregon
James R. Morris, Kettering
M. Lois Norton, Wellington
Paul C. Nyland, Bay Village
James H. Pierce, Ironton
John N. Schnurrenberger, West Mansfield
Davey L. Turner, Woodsfield
Christina L. Williams, Wintersville

Special Events

Insurance Continuing Education Seminar
Tuesday, May 9
7:00 a.m. 6:00 p.m.
10 insurance continuing education credits (pending approval)
Presented by OFDA
Instructor: Thomas V. Harrington, Thomas Harrington & Associates
Hayes Room, 1st Floor,
Hyatt Regency

Welcome Reception
Wednesday, May 10
5:00 p.m. 7:00 p.m.
Exhibit Floor, Battelle Hall

Convention Luncheon
Thursday, May 11
12:00 p.m. 1:30 p.m.
Exhibit Floor, Battelle Hall

President's Celebration & Casino Night
Thursday, May 11
5:30 p.m. 10:30 p.m.
Delaware Room, 2nd Floor,
Hyatt Regency

Friday, May 12
9:00 a.m. 10:30 a.m.
Exhibit Floor, Battelle Hall

Exhibit Hours
Wednesday, May 10
4:30 p.m. 7:30 p.m.
Thursday, May 11
Noon 4:00 p.m.
Friday, May 12
9:00 a.m. Noon

Service of Remembrance
A traditional event of the convention is the Service of Remembrance. OFDA pays tribute to all members and immediate family members who have died during the year. As part of the Service of Remembrance program, we will be including a pictorial tribute. OFDA is requesting a family member to submit a photo of their loved one to be used during the service. The photo will be returned after the convention. In order to prepare for the Service of Remembrance (to be held on Wednesday, May 10) we are asking you to submit the photo to the OFDA office by April 7, 2006.
The OFDA address is as follows: OFDA, P.O. Box 21760, Columbus, OH 43221. If you are unable to submit a photo, the individual's name will still appear in the program. Listed are the individuals who will be remembered during the service (as of February 10th). If you know of someone we've missed, please call Diana O'Neal at the OFDA office at 614-486-5339 or 800-589-6332. She can also be reached via email at

Jodi J. Baker, Washington Court House
Marilyn R. Bartley, Minerva
Lloyd F. Billman, Ashtabula
Linda L. Blagovich, Hopedale
Lowell E. Chandler, Wintersville
Robert Christmas, New Carlisle
Gary L. Chessman, Eaton
Rosalie J. Cline, Woodsfield
Michael E. Connley, Ross
Yolanda Craciun, Cleveland
Beverly M. Dicken, Elyria
Rosemary Dooner, Broadview Heights
Robert Dusthimer, Danville
Helen Eisnaugle, Jackson
Edith C. Fraley, Bradford
Donna "June" Gompf, Cardington
Ralph H. Greenisen, Bryan
Carl Grimes, Columbus
Jeanne Hais, Middletown
John H. Heiby, Phoeniz, AZ
David H. Hughes, Athens
John T. Jones, Springfield
Thomas P. Kennedy, Toledo
Warren T. Koening, Cleveland
Walter E. Krause, Jr., Cambridge
Dorothy Kubu, Cleveland
Mildred B. Lamb, Cincinnati
Harold L. Law, Utica
J. Rodney McPeek, Granville
Geraldine R. Monreal, Mentor
Rick D. Norris, Columbus
William G. Norton, Wellington
Edythe C. Nurre, Cincinnati
Margaret M. O'Connell, Toledo
Mary L. Parker, Lakewood
Max F. Porter, Mt. Sterling
Ann N. Ripepi, Independence
June L. Roberts, Wellsville
Clarence C. Rodenberger, McClure
Robert T. Sanden, Hudson
Deborah J. Seidel, Solon
William J. Shank, Walbridge
Mary C. "Cammie" Sheridan, Thornville
Gertrude Sinchak, Warren
Mary L. Shirer, Adamsville
Calvin R. Sipes, Loudonville
Edith "Louise" Smith, Norwalk
William E. Snow, Port Clinton
John G. Souter, Jr., Sandusky
Robert T. Southwick, Columbus
Donna A. Strong, Mansfield
Edla Thompson, Montpelier
John J. Wasko, Campbell
Randall J. Williams, Lima
James E. Wise, Bucyrus

We will also pay tribute to these two members of the Ohio Funeral Sales Supply Club:
Anthony "Tony" J. Mazzarella, Cleveland
Marvin M. Shipman, Delta

OFDA Committees Need YOU!
OFDA's strength is truly in its members. We need committed and interested individuals for the 2006-2007 OFDA committee assignments. A list of committees is available at or call Diana at the OFDA office at 614-486-5339 or 800-589-6332. If you are interested in serving on a committee for the 2006-2007 year, please submit a letter to the OFDA office to the attention of President-Elect Jon Deitloff. The address is OFDA, P.O. Box 21760, Columbus, OH 43221.

Proposed Constitutional Changes Announced
Important Announcement!

The Constitution & Bylaws Committee met on June 8, 2005 to review the Constitution and recommend necessary changes. The proposed amendments were reviewed and approved by both the Executive Committee and Board of Directors and are now before the general membership for consideration.

1. District Presidents term of office to begin same time as Officers and Regional Directors.
Article V The Board of Directors
Section A Composition (#5)
2. Regional Directors shall be nominated and interviewed by the OFDA Nominating Committee.
Article V The Board of Directors
Section A Composition (#3)

Nominating Committee Report
The Nominating Committee held a meeting on January 25, 2006 with the following members in attendance: Bob Van Horn, Chair, Tami Baird, Kathy Berry, Ed Nurre, and Don Pucak. The committee unanimously voted to recommend the following slate of officers for 2006-2007:

President Elect
Keith Walker, CFSP, Toledo

Walt Lindsey, CFSP, Loudonville

Tom Fleming, Jefferson

Jon Deitloff, CFSP, Cincinnati, currently president-elect, will automatically assume the President's position

Printer-Friendly Version